The Beauty myth comes to Badminton

The Badminton World Federation has just introduced a new rule, which can be found in section 19.2 of the new General Competition Regulations, requiring all female players to wear strictly skirts or dresses in Grand Prix tournaments and above.  The BWF states that this new rule will serve ‘to ensure attractive presentation’ of the sport.

Personally I’m with Commonwealth games quarter finalist Imogen Bankier, ( ranked 20th in world mixed doubles) on this who said “It is a silly rule and it is unnecessary. I don’t think women in sport should be told what they can and can’t wear when men aren’t told the same thing.

It’s actually quite rare these days to find such a straight forward case of sexual discrimination – this is one of them!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “The Beauty myth comes to Badminton”

  1. This caught my attention because for Physical Education, we are in the Badminton unit. At first I thought Badminton was hard, but the more I played the more I thought the game was fun. ow I now a little more to show off. Please see my blog:http://thefiveelements.edublogs.org/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *