Buy (almost) Nothing Month

I am such a hopeless consumerist shit that in honour of ‘buy nothing day‘ later this month I’ve decided to make November my own personal ‘buy (almost) nothing month’ – I’d recommend everyone else does the same. I’m seriously going to just buy next to nothing and invest some quality time in meditating and introspection – I mean November’s depressing enough – may as well make it really depressing.

I regard myself as an anti-materialist, and ok, perhaps I’m just more deluded than most, but since I’ve been keeping a detailed record of everything I buy for the last two months – it appears my practical consumption levels don’t actually reflect my understanding of myself as an anti-materialist – reflecting on the list of things I’ve bought is enormously depressing – here are some examples –

  • almost £70 in September on take-out coffee – this hasn’t stopped in October – I spent £6 on the stuff today –
  • £86.50 in Sainsburies and Tesco, in addition to £60 on my weekly organic fruit box – so £146.50 on food/ munchies – even though I have a productive allotment and I’ve eaten take out about 4 times this month and I’ve bought lunch at work most days.
  • £173.55 on beer and munchies – I’m kind of hoping I’m paying more than my fair share here…although I do realise that if I was American, I’d probably be branded an alcoholic – thankfully I’m British, so that’s not the case.  
  • So this means I’ve spent £389 on shoving food and drink down my gullethole – not one single penny of this was spent in a restaurant btw, most of it’s food and beer on the go – I’m just that classy.
  • Oh and that’s excluding the £600 worth of clothes I just bought – but that was the first time I’ve been clothes shopping for about 4 years, so I’m gonna self-flagellate because of this.

What’s scary about this is how this has crept up on my since I’ve been working and earning a decent wage (admitedly we are talking a decade here) – This kind of extreme consumption has just become normalised over a period. I mean this is despite my supporting such wonderful ventures as ‘buy nothing day’ above, the anti-consumerist stance of those at LSX and the Church of stop shopping (perhaps I need spiritual intervention?), and adoring films like ‘No Impact Man’ – and the whole point of my having an allotment was so I could spend less.

This is a truly truly horrifying revelation and should be a lesson to you all, hence my buy nothing month – check consumption and then check your consumption!  

Of course when I say buy nothing, I mean buying nothing after the mortgage and all the other usual monthly outgoings and basic, basic food – hence buy (almost) nothing month (coughs) –  

The problem I’ve got is that November is the second most depressing month of the year – still, if ever I feel a little down I can look in the mirror and admire the moustache I’m growing for Movember, although there’s a risk that looking like a ginormous twatt might have the opposite effect and push me over the edge – still – I guess the dead, after the funeral, really don’t consume, so that wouldn’t necessarily be all bad… I’d rather be dead than consuming and unconsciously oiling the wheels of capital.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *