Britain in a day – Filming today

You might like to film for this today – Britain in a Day is an extraordinary project to create the definitive self-portrait of the UK today, filmed by you, inspired by Life in a Day. Basically, anyone can film any aspect of their lives – but there are a few rules (see ‘rules’ on the web site).

Even if you don’t film, it’s worth considering this as a really interesting way of collecting qualitative information about life in Britain – visual ethnography completely open and respondent centred – but obviously a self selecting sample and then edited down by probably mainly middle class men. It’ll be really interesting to see how reflective people think it is of ‘Britain in a day’.

I think I might see if I can nobble David Harvey up at LSX into condensing his views on Capitalism into a 30 second sound-bite – then pan the camera round to get me and him in it at the same time and sound off with some cheesey line like ‘that’s me and Dave from outside St Paul’s – It’s Capitalism or humanity – you decide…

I’m sure that’s got zero chance of making it into the movie – but I think it’s worth a go!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *